This religious organization began its historic existence in 1855, under the ministrations of Rev. John Miller. Daniel High was the first class leader. The church building was erected in 1876 at a cost of one thousand, four hundred dollars, and yet stands as a monument of the energy and enthusiasm of its members at that time. The membership was not large, but it was composed of active, zealous and loyal workers in the cause. The first trustees were Daniel Deischer, Henry Heisy, John Heisy, John Wint and Benjamin Rider. Later trustees were Benjamin Rider, Daniel Deischer, John Heisey, John Kline and Madison Franks. The removal of its members several years ago, caused the organization to decline. No services have been held in the church building for over ten years, though the building yet stands in the southwest part of the township on section 39.
Inscription on the monument: This monument is in memory of Amos Kohl and other good citizens who gave of their time and gifts to erect what was known as the White Oak or Dutch Church on this site, and dedicated on November 1868. It was one of the first Evangelical churches west of the Mississippi River. A lot of the lumber was native and handcut. A regular minister was here until 1915. The centennial was held June 9, 1968. Photo: Jim Christianson