On the far right is a double building built by William T. Shaw for Joseph A. Scott. Scott operated a hardware store and, after his death in 1892, sons Bert and Frank continued the operation. In 1910, John W. Goodman and William Lamb bought the store, and Goodman operated the business without a partner after Lamb's death in 1938. In 1939, Don Goodman, son of John reopened the store with a remodeled interior. At times the hardware store used only half of the double building. Business occupying the west half included the Bon Ton Restaurant and R. M. McMickles drug store which included a soda fountain.

This picture is part of a panoramic photo of Anamosa taken in 1908. The photo is available online at the Library of Congress, American Memory Collection.

The last two buildings on the block are the Niles & Watters Bank and the Union Block. The bank was built in 1884 and survived until the depression. Later businesses in this building have been Citizen's Savings Bank, until 1965, and Kouba Pharmacy.

The Union Block was constructed in 1866. Original tennants were a mercantile operated by E. B. Alderman and James H. Williams, a grocery store operated by Messrs. Austin and Sherman and a boot and shoe store operated by Thomas H. Perfect. Harry Clarke's Jewelry Store was located in this buildign about 1900.
Photo by D. W. Ellis from Picturesque Anamosa, compiled and published by W. Leon Hall, Cedar Rapids, Iowa, ca. 1900, and provided by [an error occurred while processing this directive]
NEXT
CONTENTS
HOME
[an error occurred while processing this directive]