|The Masonic Lodge building was constructed by William T. Shaw in 1881. The Masons used the third story for their meetings. Strauss & Bro. operated a dry goods store of the first floor, as did a Mr. Plato.
In February 1905, a fire damaged the building and caused the C. M. Beam furniture and undertaking business to close due to water damage to his inventory. It also forced renovation of the Masonic Lodge Room. The room was refinished with a steel ceiling, electric lighting, Brussels carpeting, new furniture and refinished woodwork.
Other tennants have included: Morey Sickle (The Leader department store); Ament's; Breon's Clothing Store; and the Anamosa Bible Church.
Photo by D. W. Ellis from Picturesque Anamosa, compiled and published by W. Leon Hall, Cedar Rapids, Iowa, ca. 1900, and provided by Lois O'Donnell